Webinar Details

  • Date:  Tuesday, May 17
  • Time:  10:00 BST/11:00 CEST or 11am Pacific/2pm Eastern

Can't make the date?  Register and we'll send you the recording.

Java on CRaC: 
Superfast JVM Application Startup

with Simon Ritter, a Java Champion and twice awarded Java Rockstar status at JavaOne

Azul delivers massive scale & performance to

When

Join us Wednesday, July 28 at 11.00AM Pacific

Cant attend then?  Register and we'll send you the recording.

In This Webinar

A key benefit of a microservice architecture is the ability to dynamically respond to changes in load by spinning up new instances. However, when deploying JVM-based services, the warmup time of JIT compilation can limit the effectiveness of this technique.
 
One solution is using native images, where the service is statically compiled using an ahead-of-time (AOT) compiler. While this does reduce startup time and footprint, it does so at the cost of overall performance.
 
A new project has been proposed and accepted into OpenJDK called CRaC (Coordinated Restore at Checkpoint).  The goal is to research the co-ordination of Java programs with mechanisms to checkpoint (snapshot) a running application. Restoring from the snapshot could solve some of the problems with the startup and warmup times, especially in microservices.

In this session, we’ll look at the main challenges for such a project, potential solutions, and the results from a proof-of-concept implementation.

Join the Webinar

© Azul 2022 All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | LegalTerms of Use

Connect with us